Skip to main content

4 Ways to Check A Diamond’s Quality If You’re Inexperienced

Ever since people learned how to extract diamonds from the earth, it has become one of the most popular precious stones all across the globe. But how can you tell if a diamond is high-quality?

If you have little to no experience with diamonds, it’s going to be challenging to determine the stone’s quality. However, with a bit of practice, and some of the basic knowledge of assessing diamonds, the quality of these precious stones can be apparent even to the untrained eye.

The 4 Cs of diamond quality

Experienced jewelers have extensive knowledge about diamonds–from the necessary quality tests to more advanced things like casing shoe drilling. However, you don’t need to become an expert to have at least the basic knowledge of diamond quality.

The 4 Cs of diamond quality is the grading system used by jewelers and experts worldwide, and it is simple enough so untrained people like you can use it, too.

1. Carat weight

The carat weight of a diamond is a commonly used indicator of its quality. Essentially, the bigger the carat weight is, the more valuable the diamond is. However, the carate weight doesn’t always correspond to size. Two diamonds with different sizes may have the same carat weight because some diamonds are shaped in such a way that they look bigger.

Hence, be careful when browsing for diamonds to buy. A bigger diamond doesn’t always mean better quality. Instead, always take a look at the carat weight.

2. Color quality

High quality diamonds should be colorless. If there are any hints of color in the diamond, such as yellow or brown, its value is lower than that of a perfectly colorless one. Although these tints are very tricky to spot if you are inexperienced, you can get better at looking for them if you practice.

Keep in mind that not all colors decrease the value of a diamond. Colors that are deemed fancy, like canary yellow, for example, can actually increase a diamond’s value. The prices of colored diamonds will also depend on its rarity.

3. Clarity rating

It can be pretty easy to spot a diamond with poor clarity quality even to the untrained eye. However, you will still need to magnify it as even low-clarity diamonds can appear perfect to the naked eye. Under 10x magnification, diamonds can be subdivided into these categories:

Flawless diamonds are those with little to no imperfections under 10x magnification, while included diamonds have apparent inclusions or imperfections that are visible to the naked eye – the categories in between range from slight blemishes to barely noticeable defects.

4. Cut quality

Lastly, the cut quality of a diamond will depend on how well they are cut, which is evaluated on the following factors:

Although the cut of a diamond is a highly subjective area to judge, the cut quality can still be categorized into a range (Ideal Cut to Poor Cut).


Now that you know the 4 Cs of diamond quality, you will be much more knowledgeable when choosing what diamond to purchase.

Photo by Jacek Dylag on Unsplash

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *