Skip to main content

What is the eleven cities tour?

The Eleven Cities Tour is a skating trip

The Eleven Cities Tour is a sporting event that is not held every year: it depends on the weather. One skates (almost) 200km on 1 day at Natural Ice, along 11 cities in Friesland. In 1909 was the first organized eleven-day tour, and in 1997 was the last to date. That year, the Association de Friesche Vlag Eleven cities was founded, the association that takes place the eleven years tour (or not). The tour took place 15 times.

The cities that are being used during the ride are: Leeuwarden (start), Sneek, the Hindeloopen, the locks, Stavoren, Workum, Bolsward, Harlingen, Franeker, Dokkum, Leeuwarden (finish). In 2009, a film was released (The hell of ' 63) which told the story of the 12th Eleven Cities tour.

More information about the (passage of) The eleven Cities tour on the website of the Association.

Finish of the Eleven Cities tour of 1997

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *