Skip to main content

What are provincial states?

Provincial states represent the people's representation of the province

The Netherlands has 12 provinces, each of which has its own representative body: the provincial states. These are chosen once every 4 years by the inhabitants of the province. The major national parties participate in the elections, but there are often provincial parties involved. The membership number of the States depends on the number of inhabitants in the province. The administration of the province is in the hands of the College of Deputy States (GS). The provincial states adopt the main lines of the policy, and must check the GS. The members of the provincial states elect the members of the GS and of the first Chamber again. In 2008, the provincial states of Limburg decided to baptize themselves as a Limburg Parliament (Limburg is the only province where the people's representation has a different name).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *